Pursuant to Favrao’s letter of suggestion, and in response to invitation from the University of Florida, fourteen interested representatives from nine universities met at the University of Florida, on March 19 and 20, 1965, to consider the formation of an organization which would meet the needs of collegiate schools and departments with curriculums in construction.
Participating in the meeting were:

  • Arizona State University — Edward Shaifer, Jr.
  • Auburn University — William A. Speer
  • Auburn University — Frank Marion Orr
  • Auburn University — Rex K. Rainer
  • Clemson University — Frank Morris
  • Colorado State University — James W. Young
  • University of Florida — Loys A. Johnson
  • University of Florida — D. A. Halperin
  • University of Florida — W. T. Caldwell
  • University of Florida — J. 0. Stakcly
  • Michigan State University — B. M. Radcliffe
  • University of Minnesota — J. G. Haygreen
  • University of Nebraska — Murlin Hodgell
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute — William L. Favrao
On the first day, with Loys A. Johnson as chairman, the members concerned themselves with discussions of broad aspects of the need for an organization, and reached unanimous agreement upon the following points:

  • Building construction is a legitimate and unique area of study of sufficient professional stature and academic level to justify four-year-degree programs at universities.
  • One of the greatest needs of such programs is that of clear identity and recognition by other allied disciplines (such as engineering and architecture), the building construction industry, and student candidates.
  • An association of universities is desirable and necessary to coordinate the aims and goals of building construction education in universities.
Subsequent to the above, the group officially formed an association to be called the “Associated Schools of Construction” with the following membership requirements:
  1. Educational institution members only
  2. Accredited colleges or universities offering four-year (min.) degree programs having major emphasis on building construction. Only one unit (college, department, etc.) to officially represent each university.
  3. “Building construction” to be defined and identified as other than presently recognized allied fields of engineering, architecture, urban planning and other professional disciplines, per se. This does not mean, of course, that specific curricula within such areas which are “building construction” are not eligible.
  4. All institutions represented at the meeting agreed to become active members, except the University of Minnesota, and the University of Nebraska. These two institutions did not have a curriculum in construction at that time, and consequently disqualified themselves.
Further discussion resulted in unanimous agreement upon the following purposes and objectives of the association:
  1. To establish the objectives and goals f or the development of construction education.
  2. To assist institutions of higher learning in the establishment and development of these stated objectives, standards, and goals pertaining to construction education within their respective universities.
  3. To establish professional recognition (and identity) of the educational programs offered by the collective members of the association.
  4. To promote closer cooperation and understanding between construction education and those areas of industry identified in the field.
Fully established as an organization, the association voted to hold the first general meeting at Michigan State University, in September, 1965.
Officers (pro-tem) were elected as follows:

President — B. M. Radcliffe
Vice President — William L. Favrao
Secretary /Treasurer — Edward Shaifer, Jr.

5 6a
6b 6c
Committee Chairman were appointed as follows:
  • Constitution. By-Laws, and Legal — Edward Shaifer, Jr.
  • University Liaison for Membership — Loys A. Johnson
  • Liaison with Industrial Professional Associations and Societies — Murlin Hodgell
  • Curriculum Study — Frank Marion Orr
  • Student Qualification Study — Don A. Halperin
The officers (pro-tem) together with the committee chairmen, were authorized to hold an interim program planning meeting in July, 1965.