Wesley "Wes" Crawford Wesley “Wes” Crawford

2017 ASC Lifetime Achievement Award

The ASC is pleased to announce that Wesley “Wes” Crawford is the recipient of the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award.

The following excerpts are taken from the many letters submitted to the ASC Board of Directors in support of Professor Crawford’s nomination.

“Professor Crawford’s area of expertise is field engineering. His book, entitled “Construction Surveying and Layout: A Step-by-Step Field Engineering Methods Manual,” with over 30,000 copies sold, has made a dynamic impact on the construction industry. I remember several occasions when contractors told me that students graduating from Purdue with Wes’ class had the best possible professional preparation in the area of layout and field engineering.”

“It is a pleasure to provide this letter in support of Wesley Crawford’s nomination for the Associated Schools of Construction Lifetime Achievement Award. I have known Wes since my early years in construction education, and I can say that Mr. Crawford is a major contributor to construction education and the profession in general. He has earned the respect and admiration of his students and peers throughout his years of effective instruction and leadership. His passion brings education and the industry together to develop the next generation of construction professionals:

“Wes’ career has been devoted to success­fully preparing students for work inside the construction industry. I am an example of how he has successfully done it, as are the many other Purdue Construction graduates that we have hired over the years.”

“Wesley Crawford has had several leadership roles and received various awards for excellence in teaching, including the first ever National Outstanding Educator award from the Associated Schools of Construction. He has held leadership roles in national construction education organizations including President of both the Associated Schools of Construction and Sigma Lambda Chi. Ultimately he became president of each of these two organizations, an accomplishment which required membership and leadership on many committees of the organizations. In addition, he has been on the Board of Directors for the Association of Honor Societies and President of Indiana Society of Professional Land Surveyors, Tecumseh Chapter:”

“In addition to being an outstanding professor who cares about educating his students and ensuring they are ready for the workplace, Wes has maintained his ties to industry as well. He has worked summers for Peter Kiewit and Sons on a number of occasions, as well as for other companies teaching us sound surveying techniques, and learning current workplace needs from us, as well as current methods that we may have developed outside academia. Further, Wes has visited his students doing internships with us, as well as staying in touch and ensuring that their internships are productive. Wes’ knowledge of the industry is further demonstrated by the books he has published and that Kiewit has bought and used to train our surveyors. That one of the largest construction companies in the United States and the largest heavy and highway contractor would use his books to train our own people is a huge compliment and testimony to his impact on students and on the industry.”

Host School

University of Washington and Washington State University – Seattle, WA
Associated Schools of Construction
53rd ASC Annual International Conference

Picture Galley from the Conference

Outstanding Educator Award

  • Blake Wentz – Milwaukee School of Engineering – Region 3
  • Gregory F. Starzyk – California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo – Region 7
  • Sonya Meekel – Dublin Institute of Technology – Region 8

Outstanding Researcher Award

  • Baabak Ashuri – Georgia Tech – Region 2

Excellence in Teaching Award

  • Joseph Michael Burgett – Clemson University – Region 2
  • Lee Templin – Ferris State University – Region 3
  • Katie Z. Loughmiller – Kansas State University – Region 4
  • Ben F. Bigelow – Texas A & M University – Region 5
  • Michael Sessions – Brigham Young University – Region 6
  • Jinsung Cho – California State Polytechnic University, Pomona – Region 7
  • Edward John Kirke – Liverpool John Moores University – Region 8

Regional Teaching Award

  • Keith Rahn – Auburn University – Region 2
  • Chengyi Zhang – Eastern Kentucky University – Region 3
  • Curtis Bradford – University of Central Missouri – Region 4
  • Jacob A. Nelson – Missouri State University – Region 4
  • Jim Vaux – University of Nebraska – KearneyRegion 4
  • Matthew Reyes – University of Oklahoma – Region 5
  • George N. Eustace – Texas A & M University – Region 5
  • Justin Weidman – Brigham Young University -Region 6

Service Awards (ASC Out-Going Leadership)

  • David E. Gunderson – Washington State University – Journal Editor, 2009 – 2015
  • Javier Irizarry – Georgia Institute of Technology – Director, Region 2 – 2014-2017
  • Heather Yates – Oklahoma State University – Director, Region 5 – 2014-2017

Best Conference Paper Award

“A Comparison of Realized Benefits of BIM Implementation on Commercial Building and Parking Garage Projects”

  • Jonathan W. Elliott – Colorado State University
  • Svetlana Olbina – Colorado State University
  • Manikandan Natesan – Colorado State University

Best Conference Paper – Honorable Mention Award

“Linking Contractor Planning and Risk Prediction to Project Performance”

  • Kristen Hurtado – Arizona State University
  • Kenneth Sullivan – Arizona State University
  • Anthony Perrenoud – University of Oklahoma
  • Jake Smithwick – University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Best General Poster Category

“Evaluating the Knowledge and Cognitive Domain of Individual Test Questions Against Anderson et. al Revision to Bloom’s Taxonomy”

  • Eric M. Wetzel – Auburn University
  • Richard Burt – Auburn University

Best Graduate Student Poster Category

“Life Cycle Energy Analysis of Single Family Residential Buildings Over Decades: Atlanta Case Study”

  • Arezoo Shirazi – Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Baabak Ashuri – Georgia Institute of Technology
Skip to toolbar